Archive for June 25th, 2007

h1

Speak of the devil…

June 25, 2007

I logged in to my blog and found this.

Free Image Hosting at allyoucanupload.com

LOL.

h1

Attack of the “Blur”

June 25, 2007

(I wrote a beautiful post at work, but unfortunately I forgot to bring it home, so you’ll have to make do with this one)

I’m a normal human being capable of rational thought but every time I get on my motorbike I get a severe attack of the “blur”.
By that, I mean having a delayed reaction, somehow managing to miss out on the most obvious visual cues, and a complete inability to make good decisions, not to mention a total lack of directional sense (this one I already have normally, not just when driving).

In one trip alone, I managed to
(i) right turn on a flashing green arrow (which soon turned red the moment I started turning) into the wrong lane
(ii) miss a turn and end up parking at a faraway carpark
(iii) attempt to change lane, suddenly realise that that lane is blocked and swerve back into my own lane
(iv) forget to keep left at a carpark, be unable to to exit the carpark because two cars were in the way, and as a result had to ride to the next exit.
(v) wobble at slow speeds and have to put both feet down (not really my fault cause my biting point is very far and I can’t adjust it cause my IU (in-vehicle unit, something we buy(!) and install so that the government can take money from us) is in the way.

On the good side, I’ve been rather lucky so far and have managed to remain alive and accident-free despite making the most atrocious mistakes. 🙂

I went down to cover my motorbike up for the night, and my sis came along cause she wanted to try kick-starting it. Well, she kicked and kicked and it wouldn’t start (maybe cause the engine was cold). So she started kicking harder and harder and I was about to tell her that kicking the bike harder and harder wasn’t going to make it start better and if it didn’t start after that many kicks she should try something else (choke, cause my bike always likes a little bit of choke when starting). Before I could do that though, she’d “kicked” my bike right over :S

Before that, I’d never even dropped the bike once.

When the bike fell over, everyone (sis, dad) ran over and started pulling at it, and I had to go “back off!” and put the sidestand down before allowing my sis to pick the bike up (she’s supposed to know, they teach it in the driving school).

No damage was detected (except petrol loss) but it was dark and I didn’t try the bike afterwards so I might have missed something.
My rear probation plate was hanging by a thread of plastic and when we wiggled it, it dropped right off. Not sure if this was caused by the drop though.
Ah, well